Gallery: Last day of Boston’s Street Pianos

Sixty pianos adorned the streets of Boston for two weeks until today as a part of the “Play Me, I’m Yours” global artwork project, presented by Celebrity Series of Boston.

“Boston is one of the coldest cities in the world, it is so segregated, but things like the street pianos bring people together,” said Eric Lepovetsky, of Mission Hill (Boston).

Lepovetsky sat by the piano in Brigham Circle, across the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority train stop, for hours and encouraged people to play the piano. He applauded whenever someone finished playing.

“It is so cool. One minute you can be talking to a student, the next a lawyer. This brings people out and together,” he said.

As people would walk by the Brigham Circle and MFA pianos, some would press a couple of keys and smile while others would sit down and play for several minutes.

“At first my mom really wanted me to play classical music. It was her dream through me,” said Anish, 17, of Walpole, Mass., after he played while his dad recorded a video of him from the side. “The love for current music made me want to keep playing piano. It’s just so appealing to me. The beautifulness of piano that it gives so many songs today is what keeps me playing.”

Today marked the last day of this year’s installment of the street pianos. The program was first launched in 2013, according to its website.

“I come here at least once a day just to play,” said Sergei Wright, of Mission Hill. “I love it. When I’m playing I’m in another world; I forget about everything that bothers me.”

 

Leave a Reply

